Friday, August 16, 2013

How to decommission a Blackberry Enterprise server (5.0.3)



Step 1
  1. Logon to the BlackBerry Enterprise Server using the BlackBerry Enterprise Server service account.
  2. Click Start > Programs > Administrative Tools > Services.
  3. Stop all BlackBerry Enterprise Server services by clicking Stop Service for each service.
  4. Click Start > Settings > Control Panel.
  5. Double-click Add/Remove Programs.
  6. Click BlackBerry Enterprise Server and click Remove (If the Remove option does not exist, select Change to launch the installer and then select Remove).
  7. Delete the Research In Motion folder located in the C:\Program Files(x86) directory.
  8. Delete the Research In Motion folder located in the C:\Program Files(x86)\Common Files directory.
 Step 2
  1. In the BlackBerry Administration Service console, navigate to Servers and components > BlackBerry Solution topology > BlackBerry Domain > Component View (Select it, not expand).
  2. In the Component View, locate the appropriate BlackBerry Enterprise Server component section, click the trash can icon next to the component to be removed.
  3. The BlackBerry Administration Service console asks ‘Are you sure you want to delete this instance?’ and a summary including key information points is displayed. To confirm the deletion, select the ‘Yes – Delete the instance’ link below the summary.
  4. The BlackBerry Administration Service then performs a series of checks to ensure the BlackBerry Enterprise Server component can be deleted. If all conditions have been met, a final notification is displayed: ‘All conditions have been met for the instance to be deleted. Are you sure you want to delete this instance?’
  5. Select the ‘Yes – Delete the instance’ link to delete the BlackBerry Enterprise Server component.
  6. The deletion is confirmed by the message. The instance has been deleted.
  7. Repeat these steps for each component of the decommissioned BlackBerry Enterprise Server to be removed. (Note: It is important not to remove components that still are in use. Review the summary page before confirming deletion to ensure that active components are not removed.)
Note: -   Reboot the server once the both steps are complete.
               Complete both steps for all the servers to be decommissioned.

No comments:

Post a Comment